Book Review: Vampire Morsels and 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire

Number 6 of my 2013 goals: to get caught up on book reviews

 Books serve to show a man that those original thoughts of his aren’t very new after all.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Vampire Morsels by Joleene Naylor

Product Details

Have you ever wished you could know more about minor characters in a book? Joleene Naylor has done that in Vampire Morsels. 
Vampire Morsels is a paranormal genre and a collection of characters found in Joleene’s Amaranthine Night series. She has written an A-Z on some of the lesser characters, thereby answering any questions a reader might have.
These are well-written, short descriptions and it’s a fast read.
I enjoyed this book very much because I’m such a huge fan of Joleene’s works.  It’s the perfect companion to go along with any of the Amaranthine Night stories and it filled in details about many characters who only appear briefly in her series.
Joleene’s also a wonderful illustrator and her pictures of the various vampires gave me an idea of what they looked like besides how they became vampires and their personality traits.
I read this book without wanting to set it down. I loved learning more about the lesser characters that I had met in her books.
I don’t want to go into any details because I don’t want to spoil any of the stories if you have yet to read this series, but here is a small example.
Alexander
   Oren nodded crisply and turned back for the door. “Good. When you’ve finished, come down and have your meal. Your mother is planning for your birthday, tomorrow.”
   “How old will I be?”
   Oren stopped on the threshold and Alexander could feel him cringe. “You know very well.”
   He nodded to himself because he did, or he suspected that he did. He’d noticed something wrong several birthdays ago. “I’m never going to grow up, am I, Father?”
I rate this book 10 sets of vampire fangs (it’s a most delicious read):
Vampire Morsels is available at amazon.com , Smashwords, and Barnes & Noble. Amazon offers the paper back for $6.50 or the Kindle book for only 99cents.

Be sure to comment because two of you will win a FREE Kindle book of Vampire Morsels with Joleene’s first book, Shades of Gray. No, it isn’t THAT ‘fifty shades of gray’ book!

101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire

 Product Details

What can I say? Again, I love this woman’s books, so of course I enjoyed 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire. No, this isn’t a serious book but it sure is good advice. I laughed through several of the tips and chortled at the rest. Is Joleene an expert at vampires? She’s studied them extensively so she has some great research behind her. (Wait! Maybe she is a va…naw)
Tip number 20:
Yeah, your vampire friend may not sweat, but they still need to shower. If they forget this, don’t try to remind them by suggesting they “smell like something dead”.
Tip number 84:
Vampires do not travel by trains, unless they have no other choice, and then, only in a sleeper car. If you’ve ever traveled by train, then you’ll know why.
Joleene has added a bonus to this book: 25 Tips for Dealing with Your Vampire
Tip number 5:
Most vampires have excellent hearing. So, though you may think you’re out of range, muttering, “just wait until I get a stake, you bloodsucker!” is not a good idea.
Tip number 15:
Vampires do not consider rabbits “fast food”. And they may not think that joke is funny, either.
I couldn’t help but laugh through this section too.
I enjoyed reading this short book and am amazed that she could come up with these tips. I loved it.
I give 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire  10 rubber duckies (guess you’ll have to read this book to see what rubber duckies have to do with vampires.
If you’re into vampires or just want a quick and fun read, I suggest 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire. And the best part? It’s FREE:
Joleene Naylor’s works are my favorite vampire stories. I will say, they are gory at times with dablings of horror, but what do you expect when reading about vampires?
If you’re a Joleene Naylor fan, get ready for her fifth book in the series, Heart of the Raven. I begged and begged to get a look at this book right now and she obliged me. All I can say is WOW! Let me shout that again – WOW!!!! It is destined to be her greatest work yet.
If you think you might like to read her works, please start at the beginning of the series, Shades of Gray or else you’ll lose so much. Besides the series being in the paranormal genre, it is one of the most tender romance stories I’ve read.  
Don’t forget the I heart Books Blog Hop coming up. Joleene’s participating and you can too. Just go to her blog Joleene Naylor .wordpress to see the how to’s and to sign up. We have 21 people so far so it’s going to be quite the Blog Hop. Come be a part of this.
While you’re at her site click to follow her blog if you don’t already. She’s a very talented author and illustrator and is a person to get to know, for sure.
Remember to leave a comment. Two of you will have the chance to win a copy of Shades of Gray and a copy of Vampire Morsels. Don’t forget that 101 Tips for Traveling with a Vampire is FREE.

Love, Honor and Respect to you.

Leave a Reply

