Book Review Heart of the Raven by Joleene Naylor

It has been my deepest pleasure in getting to know Joleene Naylor, and I can honestly say that I am one of her biggest fans.


Her latest book, Heart of the Raven keeps with her high writing standards. I could not, would not stop reading this marvelous book.

Product Details    


This is the fifth book in the Amaranthine Series, and I have read every book so far.


In the first book, Shades of Gray we meet the main characters Katelina and Jorick.


Katelina receives a mysterious call while at work. If she wants to know who killed her boyfriend, she is to drive to this deserted farmhouse after dusk. Would you do it? Katelina wasn’t going to, but could not resist the temptation to find the murderer. She’s greeted by the mysterious dark haired, serious Jorick who warns her that if she is told this secret, she could never go back to a normal life again. And so Katelina’s adventure into the realm of vampires begins. Shades of Gray not only throws Katalina into this tumultuous world, but the reader too.


Product Details    


The second book in this series is Legacy of Ghosts.


Katalina and Jorick have fallen in love. They are at Jorick’s house hoping to live a quiet life together, but this is not meant to be. Jorick is pulled into a war and Katalina is dragged in with him. Oren, Jorick’s fledgling demands revenge for the death of his family and has also kidnapped an enemy’s trophy wife. Meanwhile, Katelina fears Jorick’s deep dark secret involves his first wife. Within his home is a room that she is not allowed in. Her curiosity over the secrets held in that room just might get her killed.




Third in the series is Ties of Blood. As Katelina and Jorick’s love for each other deepens, her choice to stay human causes more problems for Jorick as he defends her right while helping his fledgling Oren to prepare for war. In this book, Joleene introduces a character that has fast become her fans’ favorite vampire, Verchiel although Jorick refers to him as the red-headed idiot. Is Verchiel protecting Katelina or does he have an ulterior motive for keeping her alive. Katelina also meets Jorick’s master and head of the Guild, Malick.



In the 4th book of the series, Ashes of Deceit, all hell breaks loose in the citadel when Oren puts his plans to attack into motion. Chaos reigns through much of the book while Jorick has been forced to work for Malick again, and Katelina sees why Jorick has the reputation he has among the other vampires.




This is where book 5 comes in. Malick escapes with his loyal followers and is on a hunt for a special treasure. The vampire who owns this treasure would have powers beyond any other or so the rumor goes. Rumor also insists Jorick has this treasure hidden, which Jorick denies. But he doesn’t want it in the hands of Malick, so off around the world Jorick goes with Katelina right beside him. Heart of the Raven is the best in this series because the reader is so attached to so many of these characters, and certainly to Jorick, Katalina, Verchiel and several others. However, we meet a new character in this book who fast becomes a beloved character, Maeko.


This book is full of fun, adventure, horror, and so much else thrown into the pot. Will they find the heart of the raven before Malick does? What happens when they do find it? Well, it’s not the ending I expected. I absolutely cannot wait for the next book. I have so many questions.


So often serials start to grow old as the author runs out of ideas. Not so for Joleene Naylor’s talent. Here is the synopsis from Amazon for this 5th book:


A myth with the power to destroy the world… Katelina has barely recovered from the chaos of Malick’s revolt, yet she and Jorick must go to Munich to testify before the True Council. All hopes of a vacation are dashed when they’re assigned an entourage that includes Verchiel, a vampire Katelina never wants to see again. Her hatred is forgotten when Malick and his henchmen penetrate the stronghold in Munich. Jorick hijacks the trip and diverts them on a quest to reclaim the Heart of the Raven. Said to be the disembodied heart of Lilith, the relic may be more reality than myth, and if it falls into the wrong hands it could have disastrous consequences for the world. Can they reach its hiding place before Malick? The fifth installment of the Amaranthine series sees Jorick and Katelina draw closer as they surround themselves with their own miniature army to outwit the machinations of the ancient master. Katelina grows stronger and learns to stand on her own because there’s no room for the fainthearted in a world where darkness is eternal and the night tastes like blood.


Pure genius. As I say, I never stopped reading until the story was done.


Heart of the Raven and all previous 4 books along with other works by author Joleene Naylor can be found at and Barnes&Noble, Smashwords and other places where e-books are sold. They’re also available in paperback.


I rate this book 5 stars, and I can’t see the day when I would ever rate a work by Joleene Naylor as less than 5.


Special Appeal to all my friends: Please – when you read an Indie Author’s book – please rate it at least from the site where you bought it. It can help us so much.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s