Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons

With ‘Jersey Boys’ opening in theaters this weekend, it brought back fond memories of my teenage years and dances. Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons were one of the most popular groups and their music was often played.

The attraction to their music, besides the great songs was Frankie Valli’s voice. It was quite powerful and he could sing high notes too.

Needless to say, I was and still am a huge fan of their music.

The year was 1966 or 1967. I’m too old to remember such details as dates anymore. The place – Ashtabula Ohio. My best friend Carol, a couple of other girls, and I found out that Frankie Valli was going to be at a local department store signing autographs. The problem was that he was going to be there during the hours of school.

Did I say problem? Not really. See, Carol had a car so that day we ditched several classes and went to see Frankie Valli in person. It was only one of two times that I would ever miss a class. I was, after all, a lover of learning.

Nontheless, Frankie Valli or classes? Hmm, tough decision.

I would say that meeting Frankie Valli in person won out. This is his autograph from my high school autograph book. It says ‘Best Wishes   Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons.’

When we arrived there was a line of mothers around his table. As I handed him my autograph book, he looked up at me and for a brief moment our eyes locked on each other. It was a moment I’ve never forgotten.

If you’re a fan of The Four Seasons, here’s his fb page to like: https://www.facebook.com/FrankieValliFourSeasons and his twitter: @frankievalli https://twitter.com/frankievalli

His official website: http://www.frankievallifourseasons.com/links.html

Of course, I can’t wait to see the movie ‘Jersey Boys.’

What’s your favorite Four Seasons song? Here’s mine:

And what about one of Frankie Valli’s classic way of singing:

Thank you, The Four Seasons for all those wonderful songs. And Frankie Valli, thank you for that one moment in time.

LHR (love honor and respect) my friends.

Leave a Reply

