DIY Quick Craft Thread Catcher

I love to craft, but I’ll tell you, I can get quite messy and when I sew I often have to pull out stitches. Does your sewing area look like this?

I’m working on a project right now, but I got frustrated with the bits of thread and material, trying to pick them up and get them into the garbage.

So I searched online for a simple, quick Thread Catcher, and to my surprise, there are a lot of patterns, but they have a weighted pin cushion attached. I certainly don’t need another pin cushion and this style would just get in my way.

I came up with my own. I took a small size plastic container. I wanted the inside to match the contact paper I put on my craft desk. Luckily, I still had some. I fitted a piece to the bottom, gluing it in with my Tacky Glue. Then I glued sides in.

Looks good, doesn’t it?

Next, I got some wide ribbon and glued a piece on the outer bottom and glued a strip along the side. When all the glue had dried, I added lace around the top (I love frills and lace and cutesie stuff. That’s me).

I wanted to mount it on the side of my desk, but none of the glues worked until my son suggested my hot glue gun. I don’t like using it. I’m a danger with it, tending to burn myself more often and get the glue everywhere than get the glue on the project, but this would be quick, so I tried it and it stuck. I am considering having my husband screw it into the desk also.

Why don’t I do it myself? Seriously? I’m a klutz and dangerous with sharp objects, glue guns, and tools. My foot’s still suffering when I dropped a heavy large can of beans on it while using the electric can opener (somehow my hand hit the can, it flew off the opener tossing beans everywhere and found my foot. ( Still painful months later).

Needless to say, it’s common in our house to hear me say, “Ow.” And so my husband doesn’t like me touching his tools.

Anyway, the final product:

Not too bad for a quickie “I must have now” project. It will hang better with a couple of screws, I think.

 

I may be klutzy, but I love a well-organized craft area and someday I’ll take you on a tour, if I don’t hurt myself along the way.

Love, Honor, and Respect to you.

2 thoughts on “DIY Quick Craft Thread Catcher

Leave a Reply

